The Dark Lands Week 3

21 days down, about 49 to go. Even more important for me, it is the fist sustained writing period that I have had in 15 years. I have been writing everyday. Even with my practice book I would have long spurts where I wasn’t working on it.

There was always the myriad of excuses. Correcting papers, too tired, didn’t feel well. It is clear that one of the reasons that the practice book took so long was that I still wasn’t dedicated to the craft of writing. I was dedicated to the idea of writing. Just not the hard work.

The practice novel was also short. It came in at about 40,000 words. Today I crossed over 22,500 words. Over half of the length of the original practice novel, which took me over a year. If nothing else I have proven to myself that I can write and produce everyday. I will leave the quality part out of the equation for now.

This was a good test week for my dedication. There were excuses to be had everywhere. Several late meetings, a somebody has hit me in the head with a hammer headache. Noisy neighbors that keep my wife and I up all night, ruining my sleep schedule. Which led to several nights of staying up too late and getting up too early. By the end of the week I felt like burnt toast. I still met my goal everyday!

There is a small part of me that feels like I can call myself a writer again. Not a published writer and maybe I never will be. Writers write and that is what I have been doing. It’s about damn time too!

This weeks preview from the novel:

Tiffany feels the months of pain and fear build up in her. The anguish of her parents deaths. The rage and anger. It tears from her lungs like a mountain exploding. “Leave her alone!”

Harrick is hit with the force of her words. He feels the waves of power bounce off him. He stumbles and takes a step backwards. He looks at Tiffany with surprise. This was something new, something unexpected. The girl had used magic.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

One Response to “The Dark Lands Week 3”

  1. >The teaser looks good, but you wrote “form” instead of “from” :)Good luck with your writing!http://yalitgoodbadugly.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

