The Dark Lands Week 11

First week of editing has been an interesting experience. I set out with two main goals. Fix the bad sentences and fix the story continuity problems. I knew that this was going to be a quick and dirty edit. My plan was to get the story into my wife’s hands as quick as possible.

My wife will then go through it and look for all of the above and grammar. Once my wife finishes her run through I am going to go back through myself and make the changes that she found. At that point I am going to turn it over to non-family members for a read through.

As I go through the story I have been kind of amazed at some of the continuity errors I have made. It has given me a new found respect for people who write large books and large series. Several times in the story I started writing a story line that I skipped some major part of. It was like my brain made a jump further into the story then I had actually written. This has probably been the biggest part of my early rewrite.

I have edited ten chapters so far and should be done with the down and dirty edit this week. Then I plan to take a little time off from this story and write something else while my wife is editing. I have a couple of short story ideas that I am going to try.

The other fun part of the week was that I started to read the story to the class. A few students seem to really be enjoying it. It makes me feel like I at least have hit my target audience, teenagers. My gut tells me that the beginning and end of the story work pretty well. I am going to have to tighten up the middle.

This weeks preview from the novel:

Markus had screamed for a long time. Screamed until his throat was raw and his vocal cords strained beyond imagination. He then began to talk. At first it was all lies but slowly the lies turned to truth and the truth ate what was left of Markus’ soul. He told Harrick everything about his friends, their camp, Curtis. Every time he opened his mouth he felt a little of what it meant to be Markus slip away. Soon he would be empty, a shell of the young man he had once been.

When Harrick was done he tossed him into a corner. Rorg came in and collected the tools. Rorg kicked Markus a few times but Markus didn’t feel it. They could not hurt him anymore. He crawled into the corner and daydreamed. Daydreamed about his friends, his family. He daydreamed of Jessica, who he had always secretly loved but knew he could never have. He had almost certainly become the death of all of them.

Lying in the corner a shell, empty, waiting to die. They could not hurt him anymore. Markus began to fill his shell with hatred and anger. He let it bubble up out of him and he began to howl and scream. He pounded his fist into his body over and over. He was a shell of hatred.
“I will find a way out of this Harrick. I will and I am going to reach my hand down your throat and pull out your black heart,” growled Markus.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

One Response to “The Dark Lands Week 11”

  1. >um i hope your ready for the questions i’m going to ask on tuesday ok

Leave a Reply

