Zoë Keating Cello Tapestries

Music is such a large part of my life I don’t really know how to explain it. I started playing the Sax in 3rd grade and played it for a few years after that. I was starting to get to the point that you could actually tell what I was playing when my school ended it’s music program and the sax exited my life.

I have tried teaching myself the guitar but truthfully at this point in my life I have things that are more important to spend my time on, i.e. writing. I listen to music all the time. In my classroom. While I run. I wrote my entire book listening to music.

I respect and admire all musicians but there are a few out there that I believe are truly spectacular. The art they create is uplifting and inspiring. It transcends musical genres and stops and forces people to listen and appreciate.

Last night in San Francisco I was lucky enough to see one of those artists. Zoë Keating weaves tapestries of sound that are nothing short of magical. She is on a very short list of artists that I will travel far and wide to see. From the moment she sits at her cello until the moment the last note quietly lifts into the night air you are captivated. You know that it is something special when you never want it to end.

I have seen hundreds of concerts in my life but none of them really compare to hearing Zoë Keating. Her music allows you to forget about your worries and pulls joy through your veins. At the end of her concert you feel like someone just pumped copious amounts of caffeine into your bloodstream.

I just finished writing my first full length novel. I wrote much of it while listening to Zoë Keating. I admit that I am anxiously awaiting her next CD and was happy to hear that it will be coming soon. I have a sequel to start writing. I can always use a little more musical inspiration. Trust me on this my faithful readers, you need to catch a Zoë Keating concert. If you can’t see one soon run over to her website or iTunes and buy all of her music. If you don’t you are depriving yourself the opportunity to hear a cello played like you have never heard it played before.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

