The Dark Lands Week 14

This was a rough week of editing. I had a few chapters that just didn’t want to cooperate. I also had a brain fart moment when I didn’t save after two hours of work and my program crashed. The crash really ticked me off because I used to manage a computer center and that was always the first thing I told people who came into the lab.

I should be done with the third draft this week. At that point I will print it out and give it too a few very critical friends and maybe two of my Twitter or Goodread friends. I like the idea of giving it to people who really don’t know me and getting an unbiased view point.

In the biased view point I finished reading the book to my eighth grade class. Even more importantly they reacted with genuine emotion in the appropriate places. I would have been horrified if I had howls of laughter go up during the kiss that I spent much of the book building up to. My wife also assures me that she is really enjoying the book and looks forward to reading every chapter.

In the end I am happy with what I have created. I like it and that is what I had set out to do. I will have read the book three times by the time I am done editing this week. I have tried to hammer out all the weak spots and feel like I have some genuinely good moments in the story.

I also came to a decision about book two. I wasn’t sure if I was going to dive right back in and write the next book. After I finished reading it to my class I knew the answer. I have to keep going. I want to know what is in store for my characters next. I surprised myself so many times with where this story took me that I am sure that the second book will be equally as unexpected. I plan to start writing the second book around July 1 and have it finished sometime in September.

In the mean time it is off to Maui to finish the editing in style. I mean really, typing that last sentence on the balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. It doesn’t get any better than that. I should talk my wife into making it a tradition.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

One Response to “The Dark Lands Week 14”

  1. >july 1 i'll begin the count down 🙂

Leave a Reply

