No Doubt Master Class

>

slide_2144_27854_large.jpg

Went to a No Doubt concert last night. It was not the first No Doubt concert I have gone to but based on last night it will also not be the last. This is a band that has definitely gotten better with time. Not that they were bad in the beginning but their skills have just matured into a whole new level.

It was particularly interesting last night because one of the opening acts was the band Paramore. I wanted to like Paramore but really it just didn’t happen for me. Hayley Williams has a nice voice and I think the potential is really there but for the most part their music was just watered down fusion of teen punk and pop. I get why kids like them, it just wasn’t for me. I think that as the years weather them a little and their music grows up I might give them another listen.

The interesting part is that I couldn’t help thinking as I watched Paramore how forced their stage presence was. It got to the point where I was able to predict exactly when she would wave around her hair, when the guitarist would go into rock pose 101. It was very staged and felt jilted and unnatural. I couldn’t help but think that their entire act was made up of moves that they had seen in a video and couldn’t wait to copy on stage. They are a young band and I am sure that they will get better with time, especially if they were paying attention to No Doubt. Because No Doubt put on a master class of how to perform a concert.

Even with no new material they had the audience eating out of their hands all night. Gwen Stefani prowled that stage like a tiger, pouncing on every musical note delivered by her band mates. I know that there were kids in that audience who were there only for Paramore but left thinking No Doubt rocks. I have seen a lot of concerts in my life and I can say that No Doubt is a group that I would pay to see over and over again. I look forward to their new record because it means they will be touring again and I will be right there with them.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

One Response to “No Doubt Master Class”

  1. >Geeez, what a photo! Gwen's abs are perfect! And she was wearing those white pants so low… i wonder if she went commando 🙂

Leave a Reply

