The Dark Lands Book 2 Week 8

I am learning a lot about myself as a writer through this process. Book two has taken me longer to write than book one. Part of that is because of the rewriting of book one (which I am doing at the same time) and part of it is that I have had to be a little more deliberate in my storytelling. I need to make sure the two books flow and find myself checking back into my notes and rereading parts of book one.

I finished the first draft of the first book in ten weeks. I am guessing it will be about week twelve for the second book. I haven’t really taken any time off from writing either novel since March. I have either been writing or rewriting since then. I think that I am going to take a break between book two and book three. I might write a few comic scripts or try my hand at a few short stories.

I have been struggling with my final rewrite of book one. I received some very good suggestions from a friend whose judgement I trust. It has been hard for me to work through the suggestions that I wanted to implement and the ones I didn’t. My problem was that some of the suggestions I think I did do later in the book. Some I deliberately had held out of the book and planned to use in book two. The ones that were really hard were the ones that I thought were good suggestions but really changed the tone and style of the book I am writing. It has left me muddled.

I finally asked a published author a few questions about what was troubling me and thankfully his answers cleared the cobwebs out of my head. Now I am happy to say that the rewrite will be done some time tomorrow. I will then send it off to a few more people who graciously agreed to read it. Then I begin agent hunting in earnest.

Ultimately, I still feel that I have accomplished what I wanted to with these books. I got my head straightened out. I proved that I can sit down and meet a daily goal. I completed my novel and will shortly complete my second. Before the year is out I will have finished three books totaling over 1300 pages (best guess).

I feel more confident and competent on the second book and I am still having a great time. I am happy. I am a writer. Now I just need to keep getting better, so I can add published to the writer part.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

One Response to “The Dark Lands Book 2 Week 8”

  1. >does 68% count editing to ?

Leave a Reply

