Sugar Mama

The other day I wrote about my desire to quit the day job and take up writing full time. An interesting phenomena occurred upon having it read by friends, family. & twitter people. I received a bunch of messages saying I should do just that. So I started thinking why not?

I sat down wrote out the pros and cons and decided that really the only thing holding me back is I needed a sugar mama. Then the little evil guy who resides in the back of my head said, “Dude, you have a sugar mama!” I thought about it and realized, what the hell I did have a sugar mama.

I sat down and carefully wrote out the speech to convince Sheri what a great idea it would be to let me stay home all day and write. I meticulously researched the buzz words that would sway my woman’s heart. I bought flowers, wrote a few poems, and cleaned my side of the room.

When she came home from work I pounced. I had to keep her off guard. Dance around her with my wit and verbal shenanigans. She was reeling I tell you, it was a dazzling display of verbosity. I finished and waited for my answer expectantly.

Sheri smiled and told me, “Sugar mama huh? What a great idea! When you find her let me know. Maybe we can work out a trade.”

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

3 Responses to “Sugar Mama”

  1. >How long did you work on your proposal? And then with one smile and a few words she she brought you right back down to earth didn't she? You lucky man you, you're right, you got yourself a sugar mama!

  2. While waiting for your Sugar Mama…

    How many writers got started doing a few pages a day before work? Just do that.

    Back when I was combing through Hooked On Books for Richard Stark’s I didn’t have, and was working at Lq Barn, I wrote at least one page per day (often more – but my quoata was a single good page). That’s 3 screenplays, or a novel, every year. And that’s easy.

    I look at those pulp guys like Walter Gibson and Lester Dent who wrote 2 novels *a month*. That’s crazy! But it shows you what is possible. I wrote a 2,500 word article today that is due tomorrow. Um, if I could write 2.5k words a day for 6 days a week? I’d have a novel in a month! Of course, I’m lazy.

    But don’t wait for the Sugar Mama – write now. And when you get a book, throw it on Amazon. And then just keep writing.

    Here’s the scary numbers: To make 50K, you have to sell 20 books a day through Kindle (at $9.99). To sell 20 books a day, you need more than one book. So start writing!

Leave a Reply

