The Dark Lands Book 2 Week 11

>I have bad news for my readers who check in to see how it is going on book two. I passed the 70,000 word mark this week. My projection was that the book was going to be about 80,000 words. At my current pace I would be done next Sunday.

The problem is that I completely projected wrong. I am still about 20,000 to 25,000 words away (by my best guess and we have now seen how well I guess.) That means about 20 more days until I am done with the first draft.

The good news is that I had a great time writing this week. Some wonderful story twists that have sent me rolling into the finish line. I actually had some good break through moments. Plot problems that I was worried about. When I finished writing it I was very happy. Happy enough on one that I reread it and actually uttered the words, “Oh, hell yeah!”

I am almost there. I feel like I am in the home stretch of book two. I am also working very hard at getting book one out and into people’s hands. I received a pretty good rejection this week and am going to spend the weekend figuring out who gets it next.

I also worked a little on the next project. Just plot and character stuff. Nothing concrete but enough to get me really excited. I might take a break between book two and book three to write a different book. I want to have something else I can send out to agents. Haven’t decided yet. Book two should be done by the end of September and then it’s editing time again.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

