The Dark Lands Book 2 Week 12

I received another rejection this week and am now going to spend Sunday looking for a few more agents to send the book out too. I am wrapping my head around the fact this book is not going to get published. I still don’t think it is terrible. People read it and liked it.

This does mean that I need to change the way I am going about writing. I knew that this was going to happen. I can’t spend the time writing the third book of the Dark Lands series without a publisher lined up. I am going to write it. I have three reasons to finish it. One, I want those people who took their time to read book one and liked it to get to see how the story ends. Two, I want to be able to say to any future publisher I can finish a series. Three, if the books aren’t published I am going to give them away on the internet. Let people read them and tell me what they liked and didn’t like. See if I can build a tiny bit of an audience.

My plan right now is to write book 3 in the summer (unless by some miracle I sell book 1). I have to do this. I need to write another book that I can send out to publishers. I need my writing to get better and I think I have a great idea for a book. I am going to really go after the next book I write. My plan is to start soon after finishing book 2 and to finish it as soon as I possibly can. This might mean more than a thousand words a day.

I need to keep writing and I need to produce work that I can show people. If I write book 3 I am spending several months on a book I can never try to sell unless book 1 sells. It is not a good use of my time. In the summer I can work on two projects but during the school year I can only focus on school and one book.

Book 2 will be done sometime in the next two weeks. I will then set it aside for a little bit before I edit it. The edit I do on it will be a very rough edit. Just enough to get the obvious mistakes out. This is also about time. Anytime I spend editing is less time I have on possibly writing a book that might sell. I need to think and act like a professional if I am ever going to have a chance to actually be one.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

