Don’t Pet The Orcas

Killerwhales_jumping.jpg

I do not want to appear insensitive. I feel extremely bad for the trainer (Dawn Brancheau) and her family after the tragic death at SeaWorld. It is an awful thing but I really can’t get too worked up about it. When you are dealing with wild animals, they sometimes act wild. I mean we named the animal a Killer Whale. That seems like a built in warning.

I was a little shocked at all the stories floating around in newspapers today suggesting we might have a rogue whale on our hands. Seriously, people it is a whale. It hasn’t developed some insatiable need to taste human flesh. I understand it has been involved in other deaths but all of them were caused by people being where they were not supposed to be, in the water with a killer whale.

The fact anybody is having a discussion about if the whale should be killed or not is ludicrous. The only discussion should be if the whale can be safely released back into the wild where it belongs. This won’t happen.

The reason it won’t happen has nothing to do with the whale’s safety and everything to do with the almighty dollar. Killer whales are big business for SeaWorld. They are not going to take the financial hit. They won’t even take it for a week. They are reopening the show on Saturday and Tilikum will be part of it.

I admit I have gone to SeaWorld and I loved the Killer Whale show but I will never go again. They are putting animals in a swimming pool when they need to be in an ocean. They are treating them like house pets when they are really wild animals. This is not the first time this has happened and it won’t be the last.

The news has been littered with these types of incidents over the years. I watched a documentary called Grizzly Man about Timothy Treadwell who spent large parts of his life living with Grizzly Bears (glaringly obvious, spoiler alert ahead!). Shockingly, the bears ate him. We all know what happened with Siegfried & Roy’s act. I don’t care how beautiful and cuddly they may look, wild animals will hurt you. It isn’t personal, most of the time it isn’t even about food.

I am going to let it be known right now. If I get some crazy notion to be one with the wild kingdom. Go outside and play with lions, tigers, bears, or orcas and they eat me. My family has permission to write, “The food chain is a bitch!” on my headstone.

StumbleUpon.com

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

5 Responses to “Don’t Pet The Orcas”

  1. >Your last comment about the headstone thing had me rolling for hours, thank you for brightening my really "fun" week. have a good one

  2. >I agree, it's a wild animal and shouldn't be in a damn show to begin with. I know horses are "domesticated," but when I went to Medieval Times and the horses were being forced to dance and were foaming at the mouth, I felt sick to my stomach. I'm to veggie-lover, but seriously, humans treat animals so cruelly.

  3. >Hannah I know your week sucked hard. I am glad I could bring you some laughs. I don't think you need to worry about your job but I know you will.I will come visit this next week.

  4. >Very coincidentally, I was just at seaworld the other day (sd not tampa where this happened) and I suppose I should address the issue of the killer whale from a fresh standpoint of having just seen the show. Actually, I videotaped a lot of it, and I'll be putting that out once I fix it up. The show is kinda weird a little creepy/surreal.

  5. >I swear I just now read this blog post today. And the other day, I was just discussing this very issue with my boyfriend. I mean, KILLER whale…it's not like you didn't see it coming. It just jumped out at you. Human sheep are just nuts to me.

Leave a Reply

