Molly Crabapple Art Ambassador

aboutTop.jpg

Went to the Museum of Modern Art in New York today. It is a really wonderful museum. I love looking at art. I love trying to figure out why something might appeal to someone but have absolutely no tug on my art strings. Walking around becomes a game of guess the adjective. One piece will jump off the wall and blow through my brain like good art will. Others will leave me chuckling and shaking my head wondering what the hell got it into such a great museum.

Ultimately that is the best thing about art. Great art is going to be different for everyone. Someone can insist all they want about a certain artist’s place in history and it won’t matter one bit if it doesn’t hit you in the chest like a sledgehammer. Art is love. It’s like your first kiss of passion. The taste of the lips and the electricity that stays behind causing the ever so slight tremor. Great art moves me like that every time. As much as I enjoyed the museum it wasn’t my art highlight of the day.

Instead it was a quick trip down to a clothing store to see Molly Crabapple’s new Dirtee Hollywood Shirt line. I love Molly’s art. Every time I see one of her paintings it is that sledgehammer blow. I recently bought a print from her that I think might have stopped my heart. My office has become a virtual Molly Crabapple exhibit. I like to surround myself in joy, it helps the writing. The chance to put some Molly designs on my wife was an opportunity I wasn’t going to miss.

It was great to just walk around the store and see the models wearing the shirts. There was a buzz in the air as people mingled and picked out their favorites. Several people had brought art pads and just plopped themselves down in the middle of the floor and began to draw.

As much as I like Molly’s art I think I like Molly the person even more. She is an ambassador to art. She never stops trying to find ways to let people experience art. She seems to operate under the general thesis that the more people doing art, enjoying art, loving art, the better the world will be. Watching her sit and draw in the store was a marvel. You could see as much as she loved to create she loved to talk to people about creating just as much.

There was a young boy who stood there and watched her draw in utter amazement. This didn’t last long because someone fetched him a sketch pad and told him to start drawing on his own. He promptly found a friendly model, dropped himself to the floor and began to diligently attempt to draw her. Spreading the joy one child at a time. It was brilliant.

We left with several shirts and a lot of smiles. It was truly a highlight of our trip. If you have a few minutes and want to see what it is I am talking about head over to Molly’s site and see for yourself. Also, I know I have some comic readers out there right now. Molly and John Leavitt are doing a wonderful historical (with a dash of steampunk) comic called Puppet Makers for Zuda (DC Comics online division).

I don’t know what art moves you out there but I hope you are getting a chance to experience it. A few moments in a pocket of art joy, whatever it is. The world can be a nasty place sometimes. I think if we could just bring ourselves to experience the beauty that is in it maybe we could move past the nasty part. I know that sometimes my head floats in the clouds but I like it up there, it’s where people like Molly hang out.

——-

Molly Crabapple’s Web Site

Puppet Makers Web Site

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

2 Responses to “Molly Crabapple Art Ambassador”

  1. >Hey Dude,I just caught wind of this you published. Really it's a good stuff for those who are looking for Buying Art. I would like to tweet on it and keep my eye behind at every moment you blogging.Selling Art

  2. >oh i want to go to the ny museum of modern art. ive never been to any museums there yet.

Leave a Reply

