Sugar Mama Part Cinq

bettie-page.jpg

It appears I am through the worst of whatever illness had grabbed ahold of me and squeezed. I did wake up with a massive headache but it went away a few hours later. This would have normally caused me to do a little dance but I was unable to because of the rounded shape of my body from over stuffing myself at my brother’s house yesterday.

My sister in-law made a cheesecake that had a crust of Nutter Butter cookies and was topped with copious amounts peanut butter cups. I think one bite of the damn thing was like a bazillion calories. I, of course, had far more than one bite. I probably should regret it but frankly it was so good I am tempted to get in the car and drive three hours to get another slice (I would call first the odds of any being left is remote).

I ate a lot of food yesterday. It took about 6 hours in a car to get it but it was completely worth it. The only real problem is when you go to someone else’s house for Thanksgiving there is no leftovers. This simply will not do. So, despite my already overstuffed body today I cooked another Thanksgiving meal. I gave my wife the day off. Not only didn’t she have to cook it but I cleaned up after. This is some kind of record, for I hate doing dishes. It is why I cook, so someone else has to do the dishes.

The highlight of the feast was throwing some turkey on the ground for my two kittens and watching Ginger smell it while she tried to decide if she wanted to eat it. This was not a good plan on Ginger’s part. While she was trying to decide if it was edible, Troubadour wolfed all the pieces down. Ginger was left staring at empty floor wondering who let the pig in. I felt guilty so I dropped her another piece and then did the kitten tango with Troubadour in order to keep him from eating it. Ginger took her own sweet time but did finally enjoy her first Turkey dinner.

Now we have lots of leftovers. I decided it might be time to hit Sheri up again for a Don Quixote like quest of securing a Sugar Mama. I smiled and went over my carefully crafted words in my head. Sheri however is well onto me by now. Her words were simple and to the point, “Whatever you’re up to the answer is no. Unless it’s pie. I will gladly get you a piece of pie.” Not quite a Sugar Mama but the pie should finish what my sister in-law started and put me completely into a food coma. That will just have to do for now.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

One Response to “Sugar Mama Part Cinq”

  1. >Ah, the pie distraction gambit. That Sheri is a crafty woman. Well played, well played. :)-Jen/prismkitty

Leave a Reply

