My 10 Favorite TV programs: 2010

>600full-treme-poster.jpg

I like good TV. You can do something with TV that you can’t do with movies. Tell a long detailed story. Good TV relies on good writing and building characters. Having said that there is a lot of bad TV out there. Every year I seem to watch less and less. When a show gets it right though it can just sink it’s hooks into you and refuse to let you go. Here are my favorite 10 shows of this last year.

1) Treme

This show was like watching a well written novel. Set in New Orleans after the flood it was a powerhouse of emotion and character. Plus, you simply could not beat all the great jazz in every episode. David Simon is one of the creators of my favorite show of all time (The Wire) and he has another winner on his hands here.

2) The Walking Dead

Let’s see it’s based on one of my favorite comics. It has great acting and oh yeah, ZOMBIES! This show far exceeded my expectations and I can’t wait to see what they do next year. I hope the firing of the writing staff is not a sign of bad things to come (unless those bad things are zombies).

3) Mad Men

I love this show and it never disappoints me. An incredible drama about a lot of really flawed people. The show moves at it’s own pace but I have seen very few shows with the amount of strong acting that goes in this program.

4) Boardwalk Empire

I love this particular time in American history and was really hoping for a good show here. You know you are probably in good shape when the episode I have like the least was directed by Martin Scorsese. Steve Buscemi has never been better.

5) Dexter

I loved this year. I thought it was the best season since the first. This show could easily go off the rails but somehow keeps on throwing interesting twists at us. I am a little disappointed that Julia Stiles doesn’t appear to be staying for next season but I am sure Michael C. Hall will continue his excellence next year.

6) Justified

I am big fan of Timothy Olyphant and he doesn’t disappoint in this series. It isn’t the most realistic series in the world but I love the character interaction and dialogue. From the mind of Elmore Leonard it is the closest thing to a TV western on the airwaves.

7) The Big Bang Theory

It wasn’t the best season of The Big Bang Theory (compared to the first two) but I still think it is the funniest show on TV. It is also probably the only sitcom I could see myself watching again from the beginning. This is the highest compliment I can give it.

8) The Graham Norton Show

Best talk show on TV and a guaranteed laugh every week. You never know what Graham and his guests will get up to. It is one of the few shows in our house that everyone watches. If you don’t have BBC America I feel really sorry for you.

9) Penn & Teller: Bullshit!

The skeptic in me loves this show. Every week they take on a subject and hammer it into the ground. The show is controversial and I don’t always agree with their conclusions on subjects but I am always intrigued and amused.

10) The Amazing Race

My favorite year of The Amazing Race. The watermelon to the face of one of the contestants alone made this a stand out year. One of the few times a team I liked won. I don’t watch a lot of reality TV but this is one I never miss.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

