Ooh Shiny iPad 2

It took awhile for Apple to ship it to me but my iPad 2 finally arrived on Monday. Now I am not saying I rushed home at lunch like a complete salivating technology geek (okay, I did rush home and there might have been some drool) but when FedEx notified me it had been delivered I think I let out a little squeal of excitement. Luckily, I live very close and was not forced to break any driving laws to get home and back.

I ordered the white one. Something about it looked shinier (I think I may suffer from some rare dragon disease which forces me to hoard shiny objects). Upon removing the iPad 2 I have to admit I was completely shocked at how light it was. I really didn’t think they could make it noticeably lighter. I was wrong. It isn’t Kindle light but it is significantly easier to use the iPad 2 as an e-reader now. I like to read in bed before I don’t fall asleep (my sleep patterns are worse than a musicians, except maybe Marian Call who I don’t think actually sleeps) and the iPad 2 is way more comfortable. I can actually hold it one-handed now.

Part of the comfort is do to the fact the rounded back is gone. Ergonomically it is far more pleasing. I am also pleased to see that whatever weird battery life infection my iPad 1 caught with the new iOS upgrade is missing from my iPad 2 (since my wife inherited my iPad 1. I am hoping Apple fixes the battery bug soon. Of course, in true Apple fashion they haven’t admitted they have a bug. All of the people posting on their forums are making shit up).

Apps feel like they are loading faster but I have to be honest I never really had a problem with how fast apps loaded before. Apple still hasn’t included a way to print to all printers so this is going to be a problem for some people. I love the new smart cover I bought for it. I hated having a bulky cover. I was able to change over my unlimited AT&T wireless account without a glitch (I did see several web sites saying you could just swap sim cards. Do not do this without calling AT&T. They need to register the new iPad 2).

I use my iPad to do everything now. I am on it more than my home computer. I have written most of my new novel on it and almost all of my WordPress blogs. The size was a big deal to me but it wasn’t why I decided to upgrade. I did it because you could mirror the iPad 2 to a TV or projector screen via a HDMI cable. When I heard this was going to be an added feature I knew I had to upgrade.

Let me tell you, as a teacher, this feature was freaking awesome. I have an astronomy program, a great art museum app, and an awesome Roman history app. I hooked them up to my projector and smart board for some awesome lessons. The potential to now use my iPad in class as a teaching tool is limited only by my funds to buy cool new apps. Trust me, when I tell you manipulating the Roman Coliseum in 3D was a far more captivating way of teaching then me showing them a picture.

I am happy I upgraded. I understand for some people the changes were not substantial enough to warrant a new one but they were for me. In fact, I am probably going to have to keep Sheri out of my classroom because she is going to take one look at me using my iPad 2 on the smart board and we will be upgrading hers also.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

