Frakking Stomach

If you are a regular reader of my blog you know how much I have struggled with my weight. The main problem I have is I like to eat but have a body which has completely rebelled against me. Herniated discs in my back were the first problem. Now I have a constant fight with migraines when I exercise. When I exercise regularly and hard I am quite fit. I like exercising. It is good “me” time. I think about writing and work out the stress.

I have had a very hard time adjusting my eating to fit the amount of exercise I can do before my body kicks my ass. Over the last month I have found a nice comfort zone on exercise. I have started jogging and bike riding occasionally. I kick my elliptical’s ass on a regular basis (I have been averaging about 600 calories burned a day on it). I have slowly started cutting the junk food out but it doesn’t change how hard it is to eat less.

I like eating. I know part of the reason I like eating is it is the way I learned to cope with my stress as a child. I have done a lot better but the grind wears me out sometimes. I have fallen off the exercise bus a lot the last two years and still haven’t reached the goal I set for myself. It has left me a little discouraged.

The biggest problem I am having right now is my waist line. I am incredibly fit. I have good stamina and exercise forever. My legs are rock solid right now. My arms look great. My frakking stomach is being totally uncooperative. It pisses me off. I have a lot of shirts I have been waiting to fit into and I am close. I just can’t get over this last hump. I put one of the shirts on Saturday and felt like crying. There was the pooch staring back at me.

I am not obese. I am probably not even overweight right now (I refuse to get on a scale anymore. This is all about waist size). All I want to do is fit into the medium t-shirts sitting in my drawer missing me. I can put them on and if I suck it up they even fit. Walking around all day at Comic-Con trying to hold in my stomach will not work (Comic-Con was the deadline for my goal). I am trying to stay positive. Trying to eat better. Wishing it was a whole lot easier.

I am not going to lie and say part of this isn’t about looking my best. I like when I look fit. It isn’t the only thing it is about though. I need to be healthy. Men in my family have not lived as long as they should have. I do not wish to be part of that alarming trend. I have worked too hard to get where I am. I want to have a long enjoyable life with my wife, family, and friends. I guess the good news is I haven’t missed a day of exercise in a while. I have found my comfort zone. Now I need to zap the damn stomach.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

