Long Road Back

It all really started going wrong for me at the ripe old age of 17. That was when I blew my knee out for the first time. It took several surgeries and a lot of rehab but I fought my way back. I also gained a bunch of weight. The first real indicator that if I wasn’t exercising, I wasn’t fit.

Then I blew out some discs in my back in my mid-thirties. This one was really bad and I have still never fully recovered. I again gained a lot of weight, which I eventually took off. It was a grueling weight loss because my back was always in the way.

About two years ago I hurt by back and knee playing basketball. I also began to have migraines for the first time in my life. I bet you know what happened. Yep, I gained weight. Although, not as much as the first two injuries because I did try to watch what I ate a little.

Now I am trying to claw my way back to fitness. It has been a long road back with a lot of setbacks (mostly caused by the migraines which are triggered by heat and exercise). I don’t really want to make this journey again. I don’t want to be overweight. Some of that is complete vanity. Some is I want to be healthy. Unhealthy men in my family seem to die at an unnaturally young age. I don’t feel like tempting fate.

I have been slowly losing waistline. I am almost back into most of my t-shirts. The pants I want to fit back into are still a ways away. Shirts were the first goal. So I am happy the end is near with that one.

Even more importantly, I seem to have found the exercise limit my body can take without getting a migraine. This is a big deal because I am now going on a little over a month without missing a day of exercise (along with no migraines. I had one today but it was heat related. Cooled myself down and it went away).

I am also running again. I have run 3 miles or more, 7 of the last 9 days. I know it is strange to a lot of people but I really love to run. My time is down but I am afraid to push it too hard right now. I am just happy to be in a routine finally. My day doesn’t feel complete unless I get my exercise in. This is good for me. When it becomes routine it means I will exercise even when I don’t feel like it.

I had really wanted to be back in my shirts by Comic-Con but I guess I will have to take “back into a routine”. I hope the next time I report back in I can report my first goal met.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

