Fan-a-tic

I survived the crush of 130,000 people at San Diego Comic-Con this week. It was crazy busy and ridiculously crowded. Many of those in attendance were “frothing at the mouth” fanatics. Dying to get just one glimpse at a pop culture hero. I have friends who lined up at 4am to see the Dr. Who panel. Waited 6 hours to get in and then sat through two panels they had no interest in to catch a glimpse of the Dr. Who crew. I love Dr. Who but there is no way I would have done any of that.

I spent a lot of time thinking about my particular brand of geekness. I am a big fan of a lot of things but I don’t think I cross over into the fanatic realm in any of them. This is not a knock towards any of the people who waited in the lines to go crazy over that which they love. I just don’t seem to be built that way. First of all, I hate lines with a passion. I can barely tolerate going to Disneyland. Sheri and I tend to ride a lot of single rider rides when we go because she hates lines too. Some of the lines at Comic-Con are ridiculous. I would probably have turned into a babling idiot after waiting in them for hours upon end (despite many readers beliefs I am not normally a babbling idiot. No really, I’m not).

I thought about who might make me wait in a ginormous line. I came up with only one name, Terry Pratchett. I love Mr. Pratchett’s work. You could power a small city with my love for his words. Even that enormous amount of admiration wouldn’t make me wait in a giant line for a chance to meet him if not for one thing. I have a first edition of Good Omens, the book he wrote with Neil Gaiman. I have always wanted to get both of their autographs on the book.

I met a few famous people this last weekend. All of them were chance encounters. They all treated me nicely. I said hi. They said hi. We moved on. I actually get far more excited meeting people who I have been talking to on Twitter for years. I think my years of managing a bookstore and arranging autograph parties for people I really respected took a little of the gloss off of seeing famous people. I like to talk to people. Meeting people and having conversations is what gets my blood boiling. Getting sneak peeks of a show. Standing in line for exclusive collectibles. Staring on dreamy-eyed from afar don’t seem to be part of my geek make-up.

Don’t get me wrong. I would love to share a meal with any number of people but again this means conversation will be involved. As much as I admire Nathan Fillion, Neil Patrick Harris, or Felicia Day I just don’t see myself ever waiting in a line which requires I bring several meals with me. This doesn’t mean if I ever had a chance to talk to them I wouldn’t be completely nervous (I proved that this last year when I finally got a chance to talk to Felicia Day). I think I will always be a good fan but I have been left off the fanatic bus. I will leave that to my crazy friends….I mean passionate friends.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

