Incarnators Week 5

I am learning some very important things about myself right now. Like, apparently I do in fact need a break from time to time. I wrote a novel, a short story collection, edited a novel and started a new novel with no breaks. To say the new novel has started off slower than hell would be an understatement. I am so burnt right now I can’t even bring myself to blog. It feels like I have absolutely nothing to add to the world at this particular moment. I haven’t even been on Twitter. There have been no words inside of me aching to get out.

This is not writer’s block though. I know the story I want to write. I write when I can bring myself to sit in front of the computer to do it. I have just not felt like sitting in front of the computer. This week we have been shopping for carpet, had our roof repaired, and priced out cabinets. I have felt exhausted and sleepy. When I wake I have not wanted to work on the novel because when I do I find myself criticizing every word I commit to the page. By Tuesday of this last week I knew it was time to punt. I stopped trying to write. No blogging, no writing, no work. I read novels and played video games. I tried to keep my pets from losing their minds as the roofers pounded away on the ceiling (another giant distraction to writing). In short, I took a deep breath and tried to reenergize the juices. I needed a writing break. No guilt just relaxation.

I think it worked. I feel much better today. I find myself mapping out threads of the novel in my head. I am feeling antsy to get to work again. Really get to work, not the dribble of words which has been the last four weeks. I am not going to jump right in. I want my brain to be begging to get writing. I know it is coming. I will take Sunday to finish reading the book I have going. I will play a little Spider-Man on my X-Box and see how I feel Monday. If I am not ready I will rinse, lather, and repeat. I have always taken a few weeks off between novels and this time I didn’t. This was a mistake and my writing suffered. Now I am feeling much more relaxed and hope that soon I will be writing about my progress. I decided it was ridiculous to feel bad about it. I have already written a 120,000 word novel this year. Everything else is just bonus. I felt an urge to get the third novel done quick so my readers would have it in their hands. If it sucks this is not a good plan. My deadline of December hasn’t changed but this is because I was really smart and built-in extra time. My subconscious must have known a break would be needed.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

One Response to “Incarnators Week 5”

  1. GRIND HARDER! GET YR WORDS DOWN! NEVER GIVE UP!

Leave a Reply

