Incarnators Week 12

What a lazy weekend I have had. I decided Friday night I needed some recharge time this weekend. So I took it off. I am seventy percent of the way through my novel. The current word count is 61,000 words and if I have the same type of week I have been having I will go over 70,000 this week.

Even more importantly every single one of the character story lines are in the perfect place. I am very happy with the way the end of the book is shaping up. I am definitely in the home stretch. Several of the story threads are about to connect and the book is going to end with a big bang.

I am also fighting with myself as an author about the death of a character. I had a character that was not going to make it. As the book has rolled on I have wondered about the decision. The problem might be is too many wheels have been set in motion. I might not be able to unpull the trigger.

I find things like this very interesting. When characters don’t do exactly what I want. In the first book there was a character I planned on killing in the first three chapters and that character is still with us. On the other hand, I had two characters who I always knew were goners and eventually my grim reaper got them. Writing is a big puzzle. I just try to fit all the pieces together in a way which is enjoyable and makes sense.

I will finish the book in October. Then I will take a week off and dive into editing. I have Keepers to edit also. So this means I will be editing probably until the end of the year. Originally, I was going to move back to the rewrite of my steam punk book (which I still think there is a great novel in there somewhere but I haven’t found it). Instead, I think I am leaning towards my ghost story.

The ghost story has been rattling around in my brain for the last few months but lately it has begun to occupy a lot of my thinking time (when I am not thinking about the end of Incarnators). I was in the shower the other day and actually began outlining the first few chapters. I don’t think I am going to be able to not write it. The story doesn’t look like it is going to leave me alone. In the meantime, I am about three weeks from finishing up Incarnators. Can’t wait to have another book done.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

