Incarnators Week 14

Just a quick update to let everyone know what is going on. I crossed over the 80,000 word mark this weekend. The word count goal for this book was 90,000. I am going to go over that. I don’t think it will be much over but I know I am not wrapping this book up in the next 10,000 words.

I will be wrapping it up. I am firmly at the conclusion of the book. Sometime over the next two weeks this book’s first draft is done. I am excited and somewhat relieved. I was never really sure I was going to finish this trilogy until I decided I didn’t want them sitting in a box on a shelf. I am glad I did though.

The sense of accomplishment at having finished a trilogy is pretty cool. It will also be my second novel of the year. Not sure what my plan is for next year but I am going to shoot for two books again.

I am happy with the way the end of the book has come together. I haven’t quite decided how the last chapter is going to read. I don’t think it is going to be the big Star Wars ending where everyone meets up and lives happily ever after. There was a lot of death and tragedy in this series. I think the ending will reflect that.

I have also been thinking about a stand alone novel set in the Dark Lands but it is a long way down the road. I have a few projects clamoring to get done before then. After I finish up the book I will take some time off before starting to edit it. Once I start though I will be pounding through it. I want to get the book out in December. This will give me about two months to finish the editing. Then it will be onto the next one.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

