Farewell Mr. Jobs

I am a technology geek. I know this is shocking. Probably none of you could tell. It started young for me. When all of my friends were buying the first Atari I was saving up paper route money to buy my first computer (A Commodore Vic 20).

I was an early adopter of Apple products. The first home computer I owned was Apple. So was the second. I would move to the PC world after that. I would stay firmly entrenched in DOS and Windows for a good many years. I have always tried to stay knowledgeable about the cutting edge of technology. It fascinates me to see where we have been and where we are going.

When I got my first teaching job I was brought back into the world of Macs. I wasn’t really too impressed. They were okay but software limitations were huge. The OS was a little clunky and not very powerful. I was the tech guy at my school though, so I learned it. OS 9 was a big step up for Apple and I began to see some real potential in where Apple was trying to go.

Then the iPod was born. A startling combination of two of my passions. Music and technology. Sheri and I jumped back into the Mac world with both feet and have been there ever since. I am typing this blog on my iPad. We just bought the new iPhone. We have spent a lot of money on Apple over the years.

If you have read my blog you know I am not one of those people who thinks Apple can do no wrong. In fact, for awhile there I loved poking fun at Steve Jobs by calling him Lord Jobs. I like products that work. I like technology which makes my life easier and enjoyable. Steve Jobs was a visionary when it came to producing products which could do this.

I was a little wrecked when I heard he passed away. The thought I couldn’t get out of my mind was, “what great product won’t we see because the world has been deprived of his genius far too early.” In a lot of ways this was like John Lennon dying for me. Lennon was a very influential part of my childhood. Steve Jobs held the same place in my adult life.

In the end I feel for his family the most. It is never easy losing someone you love. The world lost a thinker. They lost a loved one. In the end I am grateful he was able to share his vision with the world. He didn’t write software. He didn’t design the products. He was a leader. He inspired people. He brought out the best in the people who worked around him. He made Apple a company which constantly thought outside the box because he, himself, would not be boxed in. He was an example to all of us. Farewell Mr. Jobs. You will be missed.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

