Confessions Of A Book Addict

Hello, my name is Christopher and I am addicted to books. I write this confession in a room which is currently filled with books. Every wall, every nook, every space I can cram a book in there is one. I have so much credit at the used book store here in town I have stopped trading in books. Now I give them away. To friends, to the library, to kids at school. Speaking of school my addiction runs deep there also. I have more books in my classroom then all of the 4th through 6th grade teachers combined. I recently brought in my old Kindle and am now lending that out to students as well.

This week was a bad week for book addictions. Amazon had a ginormous sale on e-books. I knew I shouldn’t have looked but I did. Not only did they have books I wanted but they had added large amounts of early works by writers I read. Then put them on sale for $2.99 a book. I think I bought 40 books. I didn’t count I was afraid of what the number would be. The books normally sold for $8 to $9. It was too good of a deal to pass up. I have already read several of them.

That’s the thing too. I am a veracious reader. I read between a 100 to 150 novels a year. It would be more if I didn’t spend so much time writing (I did have a little slump the last few years but it ended this year. I cut out probably 70% of the television I was watching). One of the reasons I can’t wait to be retired is the thought of all the books I will be able to read every year. I tease my wife that all the unread books in my house are my retirement fund.

I have gotten a little nastier over the last few years with my books. I used to be one of those people who would finish any book I started. No longer have enough time for that practice. I will kill a book quick now if it doesn’t catch my fancy (one of the reasons I like the Kindle. I get to sample). I have a lot of books on my shelf waiting to be read but I know some of them won’t make the cut. This week I killed a book after one page. Now to be fair I had tried reading the book once before and gotten a little farther. It didn’t hook me but I liked the author enough to hang onto the book for another try. I read a page and was quickly reminded why I put it down the first time. Off it went to some other reader who could give it the attention it deserved.

I consider myself fortunate. This isn’t a bad addiction to have. I get enjoyment, I get smart, I exercise the brain, and I learn a lot about writing. It was an addiction that got ahold of me early and one I will never try to cure myself of. Now, if I could lose a little of the chocolate addiction that would be okay (this is a blatant lie. I don’t want to lose the chocolate addiction either).

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

