8 Paws to Less Stress

These last two days have been a little stressful at work. My principal is out all week leaving me in charge. I don’t really like being in charge for this many days in a row. I start to stress about teachers who I don’t think are taking care of their own business. It makes me feel uncomfortable. For me being in my classroom surrounded by my students is the best feeling in the world.

After all these years I still really love teaching kids. It feels important. It is nice knowing when I get to the end of this journey I can look back and know I did something substantial. In the meantime, I get to stress out about being in charge. I am starting to think I don’t want to do this anymore. It used to be easy being teacher in charge. I rarely had to leave my room to do it. Now they get me a sub. It might be time to let someone else have the opportunity to stress out over it (isn’t this kind of me).

Luckily, I have a sure fire way to reduce stress. Two cats, eight paws, a bed, and a piece of string. Playing with my cats is a blast. I have had great cats in the past but Troubadour and Ginger are in a class by themselves. They are so different from each other. Troubadour is a big cuddle cat. He likes to lick and be next to you. Ginger gives out her affection when she feels like it. They both like to play.

It is a real treat to watch them go at it. Especially Ginger, who loves to leap and will spring great distances to attack string or your hand under the comforter. Ginger takes her playing seriously. Troubadour will play until he is tired and then plop down like the king of the world and watch Ginger.


They are both saving me this week (yes, I am aware it is only Tuesday). The first thing I do when I walk through the door is play with them. They know this and are always waiting by the door when I come home. They then fight each other to see who can trip me first. I have never had cats who liked to interact with people as much as these two. This is a good thing because I am going to need every bit of their cat attention. I used to hunker down and play video games to unwind but the paw destressor is a much better method.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

