The Scale Is My Friend

Today I did the dreaded thing. I got on a scale. I have been putting it off for a lot of different reasons but I admit one of them was fear. I figured now was as good a time as any. I have now exercised for at least an hour for 41 straight days. I am noticably skinnier but not where I want to be yet. I took my blood pressure for the first time this week and it was high. I knew this meant my weight would be also.

I admit I was hoping for a slightly better number from the scale today. I was angry and disappointed to see I still had 26 pounds to lose (this is an estimate since I am mainly basing my goal on fitting into my good pants again). I shudder to think of what the scale might have said 41 days ago. I never want to do this again but I know I said that last time and here we are again.

It’s funny how it happens too. How easy it is to lie to yourself. I lost a lot of weight and it was really hard. I have a bad back and I am prone to migraines when I over exercise. Losing weight is an extreme sport for me but I did it a few years ago. I looked good, I felt great, I was healthy. Then I hurt myself again and the slow slide to here happened. I stopped exercising. I gained weight and then I stopped weighing myself. A great recipe for disaster.

There is some vanity in this. I want to look good for myself and for Sheri. It isn’t the driving force though. When I am exercising I am fine. The weight stays off but more importantly my blood pressure is good. My family has a long history of men dying young. I need to be healthy. I need to be smart. I have been neither.

So now I have stepped on the scale. I know what I have to do and I will. I have already lost 3 inches off my waist. I need to lose 3 more. Then I need to keep them off. Sheri and I have talked a lot about this and we are both on board. This has to be a lifestyle change. Eat healthy and live healthy. It is going to require a mental change. Enjoy food but always be aware. Stop making excuses and never avoid the scale again. The scale is my friend (I have been repeating this a lot today). I know the scale doesn’t give the full picture of a healthy person but it is a good early warning system. Now, all I have to do is take off 3 more inches and drop my blood pressure. A much easier goal then selling a few of my books.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

