Yukon Ho!

This was not the blog I was planning on writing today. I was going to write a brilliant and witty blog about geeks with a side helping of my geeky wife. Only something insidious and foul has gotten in the way.

You know how you go on vacation and you try to cram as much stuff in as you can? How it feels like you are in some sick twisted competion with the Energizer Bunny and the loser will be banished to the neglected toy heap. What you don’t know (okay maybe it is just us. Throw in my psychological impairment of wanting to run in as many new towns and places and a recipe for disater is on the horizon).

I got up this morning with my back in a bad way. Felt like the Wee Free Men had been holding their annual cow tossing contest on me. I ate breakfast. I stretched and decided what the hell, I want to run in Skagway. So I did. Then I got going and decided to run to Canada. I began to scream Yukon Ho and ran into the mountains. If you are not aware Canada is a good 20 plus miles away. I got way up into the mountains. Hit an obnoxiously steep hill, regained my senses and turned around.

This is a long way to get around to the point that I am currently hopped up on Nyquil and am most definitely sick. I can feel the ache in my bones. I frakking hate that feeling. So no great and witty geek blog (my ego knows no bounds). I did give you a rare picture of Sheri and I. We are pink like and look ridiculously fabulous (despite my being sick).

We are having a great trip. I ended up doing the sensible thing today and took a train into Canada. It was gorgeous heading through the mountains. It was a long train ride though and by the end I knew I was in trouble.

It’s funny though. We did all these cool and wonderful things and the highlight of the trip was sitting in the grass talking to our friend Marian. We also got to meet her friend Pat and a twirling girl who likes to sing Marian’s songs. Talking with old and new friends is full of awesome. Doing it on a gorgeous day in Juneau, priceless. I will be off the grid for a few days now. I promise geeky blog soon. In the meantime, it is time to have some Nyquil dreams.

About csdaley

C.S. Daley was born in California but has spent most of his life in his imagination. His first short story written in third grade, the now classic "Close Encounters of the Turd Kind," was sold to his next door neighbor for a quarter. The neighbor promptly demanded a refund. An unhealthy obsession with the writings of Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, and Terry Pratchett have left his mind warped and broken. He spends most of his evening swilling down coffee while tapping at a keyboard under the watchful eyes of his kittens. They are there to make sure he doesn't snap. He likes to write fantasy for adults and teens.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

